2011 Nebula Awards — Washington, D. C.

Note: This post was imported from an old content-management system, so please excuse any inconsistencies in formatting.

The 2011 Nebula Awards banquet was held Saturday, May 21, 2011 in Washington, D.C.  Presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) annually, the winners are as follows. While we congratulate all of this year’s recipients, we are especially proud of Eric James Stone for his win in the novelette category, for Eric hosts and maintains the Tangent Online website. Heartfelt congratulations, Eric!

2011 Nebula Award Winners

Short Story

(tie): “Ponies” by Kij Johnson (Tor.com), and

“How Interesting: A Tiny Man” by Harlan Ellison (Realms of Fantasy)


“That Leviathan, Whom Thou Has Made” by Eric James Stone (Analog)


“The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queen’s Window” by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean)


Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis (Spectra)

Other Awards

Special Service Award to John E. Johnston III, for his long service on the SFWA Grievance Committee

Solstice Award (for those who have contributed greatly to the field of science fiction) to Alice Sheldon (posthumously, aka James Tiptree, Jr.) and Michael Whelan

Ray Bradbury Award for Best Dramatic Performance went to Christopher Nolan for Inception

Andre Norton Award for Best Young Adult Science Fiction & Fantasy went to Terry Pratchett for I Shall Wear Midnight.